Quite a day in the Big Apple

So I’ve been in New York City with my family for a few days. This is actually my third trip here, but every time I love it more! There are always new things to do. I just love it. Having been to the city a few times before, I had pretty much covered all of the tourist spots. So on this trip, I really wanted to do some new things. I really wanted to hit Brooklyn! So today, that’s where I went. I actually started the day in Times Square with my mom and sister for breakfast. Around noon, my dad and I took the subway from uptown, 14 stops down to Brooklyn. Specifically, the Fort Greene neighborhood. We trekked up the steps to the street, where we stepped out onto a scene much different than Manhattan. This was quaint and cute…like a classic American neighborhood. It was adorable! I wanted to go to the locally famous Brooklyn Flea to check out the vintage scene. So, we walked a few blocks to Lafayette avenue, where the Brooklyn Flea was being held. We both had a blast browsing the nearly one hundred (or maybe more) booths. I scored a $10 vintage skirt and a $10 ring made out of an old typewriter key. My dad got an art print for $15. We got good deals, but many of the vintage items seemed overpriced to me. We loved it so much though, that we stayed for over 2 hours. Part of the Brooklyn Flea is the artisan/craft food, which was amazing! We had gourmet grilled cheeses and craft soda! Unfortunately, we got caught in a 30 minute rainstorm while browsing. We took shelter under the tent of a family selling furniture. They were so nice and we ended up talking to them for quite a while. They told us we might like to check out the DUMBO neighborhood of Brooklyn, so we decided to head there next. Off to the subway we went. Three stops later, we were in DUMBO, which stands for Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass. The neighborhood is actually between the Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan Bridge. We walked around for a little bit, then decided to walk the Brooklyn Bridge! It was so much fun and made for some beautiful views! After a little over 1 mile, we had crossed back over to Manhattan, right next to the new World Trade Center museum. From there, we decide to head back to the hotel, in time for our broadway shows. My mom and I went to Les Misérables, while my dad and sister went to Phantom of the Opera. Les Mis was amazing, though sad and depressing…but the music was beautiful. By the time we were done, it was nearly midnight. We decided to eat at the classic Carnegie Deli. I had my first ever bowl of Matzah soup and it was delightful!
Needless to say, I had a wonderful day in the Big Apple!

On a side note, my dad bought me a fitbit activity tracker yesterday. Today I tracked my activity. In total, I walked 20,704 steps, which comes out to about 9 1/2 miles! I will sleep well tonight!

Here are some pictures from today’s events:

20140601-010033.jpg

20140601-010159.jpg

20140601-010213.jpg

20140601-010245.jpg

20140601-010307.jpg

20140601-010314.jpg

20140601-010321.jpg

20140601-010329.jpg

Until next time,
Bethany

Leave a Reply

