A busy, yet refreshing weekend

Why do I keep getting behind on my posts? Life is hard, I guess…and words are hard.

Anyway, this post will just be a simple life update. 🙂

This has been a pretty busy weekend and week.

Last weekend was truly one of the best of my life, though!

My sister and I got to go to Passion 2014 Houston! It was literally amazing. It was such a refreshing, yet challenging time, that came at a good time for me amid my transition.

Here’s a picture of us in our 3rd row seats:

Jordan and I were so excited to be at Passion 2014!

Jordan and I were so excited to be at Passion 2014!

For those that don’t know, Passion is basically a Christian conference for college-aged students, ages 18 to 25. The head of Passion is Louie Giglio. I am pretty sure his church in Atlanta started Passion. Musicians and bands like Hillsong, David Crowder, Matt Redman, and Chris Tomlin performed. Speakers included Louie Giglio, Francis Chan, Beth Moore, and Judah Smith. Special guests included the creator of the popular Bible app, You Version, Roma Downey from Touched by an Angel and her husband Mark Burnett, who direct the Bible series together, and the lady who is the curator of the rare Bible collection at the American Bible Society.

This past weekend I was challenged in my faith; I was given the opportunity to evaluate myself and my relationship with God. One of the most important messages I took away from Passion was in the talk that Judah Smith gave. He said that as Christians, we shouldn’t say “Christ is in me,” but rather, we should say “I am in Christ.” Smith stressed that if Christianity says that the power is in us, it will become a form of humanism. All the power is in Christ. As Christians, forgiven by grace, we are now hidden in Christ. This doesn’t mean that Christ is not in us, because the Bible makes it clear that the Holy Spirit is in the hearts of those who are in Christ. Smith also made a point that in our society, we are taught that practice dictates position. We work for the jobs we get. We earn our place in this world. Through Christ, position dictates practice. The moment we accept Jesus, we become hidden in Christ. That becomes our position. We should be obsessed with Christ and because of that, we should practice what we believe.

An interesting fact about Passion Houston is that there were over 17,000 people there. The top colleges represented in order were Texas A&M, Baylor, then University of Texas. There were so many A&M students there, that during the breaks, students started doing yell calls, which are basically the chants at football games. It was so cool!

I went home after Passion and, then rode back to College Station with Allison. We stopped at the A&M barn that is about an hour outside of College Station, and Allison took my picture. She did a great job! I love it.

Me at the Aggie Barn!

Me at the Aggie Barn! Photo Credit: Allison Reimschussel

This week, I haven’t had any tests, luckily, but I have two next week, so I have been preparing a little. This week is my only week until the week of April 7 that I don’t have a test. I’m sure it will be okay, though!

Here’s an outtake. I said “Let me try running at the camera.” This is what happened, and I think it’s pretty funny! 😛

Lol. Photo credit: Allison Reimschussel

Well, I guess that’s all for now!

Much love,

Bethany

Leave a Reply

