Growing Up.

This weekend I did something that really put me out of my comfort zone. I am a person who basically hates driving. I got my license on time at 16, but I pretty much let my sister drive me anywhere because I just had no interest.
Of course, I eventually drove everywhere, but I still just don’t enjoy driving, and I don’t think I ever will!

So, to get the point: This weekend I had a driving breakthrough!

I only have class on Tuesdays and Thursdays this semester. So, I decided to drive home to see my family and simultaneously prove to myself that the three hour drive from College Station to Mansfield was something I could handle. It turns out that I basically picked the worst day to drive home. I woke up Friday morning to leave and everything outside was frozen and it had been snowing. I got in my car and it wouldn’t start. After calling my parents, I realized my battery was dead and needed to be replaced. After a series of events, it turns out it was a false alarm and my car just momentarily got a little shocked from the 27 degree weather.
So, I hit the road to head home. I knew it would be a little icy, but I figured it would melt fast and I wouldn’t have to worry about it.
I was definitely incorrect. The ice was basically everywhere until I got a good 75 miles outside of College Station. I was so nervous, but I made it. Luckily, most of the roads and all of the bridges I crossed had dirt on them, so it was safe to drive, but it was still scary!

Needless to say, I felt very grown up to have driven home in precarious weather. I felt proud of myself. 🙂

I ended up having a really nice weekend at home. I rested a lot, ate home cooked meals, got treated to frozen yogurt, and actually did all of my homework! I randomly ate a ton of oranges. I hope that doesn’t mean I’m getting sick. I feel great! I got to catch up on Downton Abbey with my mom. I’m not sure that I like where this season is headed…I’ve already been let down a few times!
I also got to see my cat, Opal, who I miss so much!
Here is a picture I took of her this morning:

20140127-205010.jpg

Also, I found another show to binge watch on Netflix (because I definitely need another one of those). This time, it’s a show I never thought I’d watch: Grey’s Anatomy. After making it through season one in record time, I have decided that this show kind of feels like a medical spinoff of Gossip Girl, replacing Manhattan’s elite with Seattle’s debt-ridden med school post-grads. And I like it a lot, so far.

Now I’m back at school, preparing for another busy week at A&M. A hard part of transferring has been trying to get into my own niche here, and I know it will take time. I’ve joined an English society here and we have our first meeting this week. I’m pretty excited!
I’ll be applying for a couple other organizations this week, and I’m hopeful that things will start falling into place!

I think, for me, the whole transferring process is just something that I can look at as part of growing up, and learning who I am. It’s hard sometimes, exciting other times, and truly an adventure! I just have to keep reminding myself to take advantage of all the opportunities I have here, because I truly am fortunate to be at such a great university.

One thought on “Growing Up.

Leave a Reply

